Preview Mode Links will not work in preview mode

Casual Space

Apr 11, 2024

40 years ago, the six surviving Mercury 7 Astronauts (Scott Carpenter, Gordon Cooper, John Glenn, Walter Schirra, Alan Shepard, and Deke Slayton), Betty Grissom, William Douglas, M.D., and Henri Landwirth established the Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF). Since its inception, the ASF had the mission of retaining the United States' world leadership in technology and innovation to support the best and brightest STEM scholars while commemorating the legacy of America’s pioneering astronauts. From the original 7 scholarships in 1984, $8.3 million Astronaut Scholarships have been awarded to 790+ Astronaut Scholars from 48 universities nationwide to date.

The Astronaut Scholarship Foundation (ASF) is a 501(c)3 non-profit organization that annually provides more than 60 scholarships to the brightest and most talented college students in science, technology, engineering, and mathematics. Learn more at: 

Today on the show, Karly and Lisa join Beth and share how the ASF has helped impact their lives, and invite your support. 

Karly Liebendorfer is a senior at Florida Institute of Technology, majoring in biomedical engineering with minors in nanotechnology and chemistry. She is a 2023 Astronaut Scholar. She is also the captain of Florida Tech's NCAA DII women's lacrosse team and is involved in multiple student organizations. She will pursue her Ph.D. and aspires to work in drug development for space applications.